Review: Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken

Never Fade (The Darkest Minds, #2)Never Fade
Alexandra Bracken
Darkest Minds #2
October 2013

The Gist:

One life sacrificed for millions. But that life is hers. 

Ruby’s back! And she’s in the Children League, working for them with other Psi kids. And it turns out she actually needs Liam again because he has this special flash drive. So off she goes to look for him, with her new Psi friends and some old ones as well. 

Rating: 4/5 bamboo sticks

4

Thoughts: 

I was so excited to read this after finishing The Darkest Minds last year (THAT CLIFFHANGER) and it’s been a long wait. But finally, I have finished devouring Never Fade and it was delicious. If you haven’t read the Darkest Minds, read it, and if you have, definitely read Never Fade. Seriously. Read it. By the way, I’m trying out a new review outline so I can include slight spoilers in “That Scene” and “That Quote section.

Characters:

Firstly, LIAM!! Secondly, yes, Ruby does find Liam again if the blurb hasn’t hinted that already Along with some of the old group from Darkest Minds, we meet some of Ruby’s group from the Children’s League. We have the resident badass Vida, the smart techy guy Nico and the ball of cuteness Jude. Excluding Nico who we don’t really get to know in this book, I seriously loved them all. I especially loved Vida’s sass because she’s awesome. We also meet Liam’s brother Cole, who looks like Liam, talks like Liam but overall is more badass.

The Story: 

Nothing special… for the first half. The second half is full of guns and action and Liam. I didn’t finish for so long because the beginning was really so-so. There’s no characters I really care about at that point. Then we find Chubs and everything gets better. As always, he’s one step further than Ruby so the story picks up a lot. And then we find Liam and the plot is amazing. This couple just rips me apart which leads me to –

That Scene: 

We get a glimpse of how Liam must be feeling when he tells Ruby that he love her but doesn’t know why and that scares him. He’s so confused over these feelings. This was the scene I was waiting for since last December. This is where I knew I was hooked.

That Quote:

“I feel like… I feel like I’m losing my damn mind, like your face has been carved into my heart, and I don’t remember when, and I don’t understand why, but the scar is there, and I can’t get it to heal. It won’t go. I can’t make it fade. And you won’t even look at me”

– Liam to Ruby

Fangirling Factor: There’s no stopping the fangirling from this book.

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

4 thoughts on “Review: Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken”

Let's talk about it

