Books I Was Forced to Read

top ten tuesdays

If you don’t know this is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish… well you should. I don’t have many books I was forced to read by friends because I like to pick out my books: I’m usually the one making people read books. But school… that’s another story. I like reading the books but after I analyse them… not so much.

The Giver (The Giver Quartet, #1)A Cage of Butterflies Blueback: A Contemporary FableTuck Everlasting

1. The Giver by Lois Lowry

This was one of the most annoying books I’ve ever read. I know its meant to be deep and meaningful but I just couldn’t get that through the storyline.

2. Cage of Butterflies by Brian Caswell

An Australian novel YAY! It was an interesting and eerie story. The cover was just as eerie and awesome but not only did the multiple POVs really get on my nerves but they varied between first and third person. No just no.

3. Blueback by Tim Winton

Another school book that failed to interest me. The end.

4. Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt

Its an interesting plotline but the way it was written made me not like it. I blame the 1985 publication date for the hard to relate to writing. Β There are high points and low points so I guess its a so-so book for me.

Maybe one day I’ll re-read these books and think “How could I’ve ever thought these books were bad?” because I’m too young to appreciate them. But right now it’s hard to like them when they’re fighting against paranormal plotlines and forbidden romances. Anyway, have you read any of these books and if you have, what did you think of them?

 

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

1 thought on “Books I Was Forced to Read”

Let's talk about it

