Review: Picture Me Gone by Meg Rosoff

Picture Me GonePicture Me Gone
Meg Rosoff
Puffin Books
2013

Thanks to Netgalley and Puffin Books Australia for the eARC!

This book took up a lot of my reading time. It took me over a month to finish the whole thing. The thing is, it wasn’t extremely long or full of confusing words. It was a very intense read and I found I could only read a couple of pages at a time. The beginning was especially hard for me because I found it dull and uninteresting. The plot does pick up around the end though so I’m happy I kept going with it.

Ok the thing that annoyed me the most: the dialogue. Usually, I don’t really care about the dialogue unless its really bad. The dialogue in this book was really annoying for me because there were no speech marks. I had to read some lines three time before I could separate the speech from the description in them. It was really frustrating reading the lines over and over again.

I felt disconnected with the characters and couldn’t relate to them at all. Take Mila for example. She’s our MC, the person we get most exposure to. I really couldn’t relate to her because in my head, she just seemed like a robot. She was always calm and collected, even at her worse moments. There was this moment when she says “Recalculating, my brain says”. That just really bolted my robot theory of her in my mind. How could I relate to someone who does that?! I also was reading it thinking Mila was a 16-17-18 because she seemed really intelligent. Then I found out she was 12. This was me:Β image

Mila sounds way too smart to be a 12 year old and that’s yet another thing that I couldn’t relate to her.

To be honest, it really wasn’t my type of book but I’m glad I at least gave it a try.

Rating: 2/5 bamboo sticks

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

Let's talk about it

