Movie Review: Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters

So there’s gonna be some spoilers for those who haven’t read/watched Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief or read Sea of Monsters. But then again, the movie is pretty bad so don’t worry about it.

Percy Jackson and his friends are back for round 2 of the movie series. We start off with a sweeping shot of pine trees which is universal code for “We’re in Forks! This is Twilight!”. But no this is Camp Half Blood. I can tell they tried to incorporate more of the book into this movie. The Big House is there, so is the mini colosseum

and a sort of training thing. Unfortunately, they had to mess up that perfect image with confetti guns. That’s right. I said confetti. Clarisse climbs up to the top, gets the disc/frisbee thingy and then confetti guns just shoot behind her. …Um what? Why the hell are there confetti guns at Camp Half Blood? Onto the next scene on Polyphemus’ island. Which is also an amusement park called Circeland. Excuse me but was that supposed to be Circe’s Island? Or was it there to replace the missing amusement park in the first movie?

The dialogue was just hilariously bad. It was really cheesy and all the overused lines you hear in movies was there. There’s exchanges like “Thank you” “No, thank you” that I just rolled my eyes at. To be fair though, they did have some original lines such as “Why are you on my roof? Get off it!” Yep, Luke sure does loves his roof. I was laughing silently for a good minute at that. The script was probably the worst part of the movie. The actors were good just that the lines they were saying weren’t.

So, I did have problems with the characters but that’s mostly because of the script. Percy was as insecure as a teenage girl. He was all like “What if I’m a one quest wonder?” …You did not just say that.The script made Annabeth the dumbest person ever. I don’t even know why she’s there. Clarisse gets all the badassery while I’m pretty sure all Annabeth does is “Percy, you did great!” or “Percy, you’re awesome!” You’re supposed to be smart and awesome, Annabeth! Thalia was really what I thought she would look like with her studded leather jacket and short hair.

Ok so onto the highlights. I loved the attic scene with the oracle (even though it’s meant to be in the first book). It was portrayed exactly how I thought it would be. The Charybdis scene was really awesome and I loved the scene at the beginning with the kid version of Luke, Thalia, Annabeth and Grover. They were so cute and acted so well. The CGI in the movie was really good. I loved the Charybdis scene so much because it looked so real. Have to say though the inside of the stomach looks an awful lot like the inside of a kaiju’s stomach from Pacific Rim.

Fans of the books might be let down but it is a ok movie. I walked in expecting the worse but found ut bearable instead.

Rating: 2.5/5 bamboo sticks

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

1 thought on “Movie Review: Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters”

Let's talk about it

