Review: All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terril

All Our YesterdaysAll Our Yesterdays
Cristin Terrill
All Our Yesterdays #1
Entangled Books
2013

This book was an emotional rollercoaster. At the start, I had so many expectations and was let down easily but the book ended on an awesome loopy loop for me.

We meet a girl named Em. She’s got a mission. Go back in time and kill a boy. But it’s not just any boy. It’s the boy Marina loves. And who is Marina… well let’s just say Em knows her pretty well.

By the end of the book, I was in love with James. For some reason he stood out to me more than Finn. But I loved Finn in his own way and the same goes for Em. Marina was kind of annoying at the start but she redeems herself from there. I felt all the characters were developed really well and were realistic and just awesome. The friendship between these three is really sweet and a great addition to the story.

To be honest, time traveling is not a topic I often read in books. But that could also be because of the vampire/ werewolf craze going on. I did have trouble keeping up with the book at the start and I took a long break a few chapters in. Thankfully, I picked it up again. The book had a really fresh plot and with the different versions of the characters, the plot shone more. It’s one of those rare books that makes me feel excited one moment then crying my eyes out the next. It got me thinking thoughts like, “What if I didn’t pick up this book… what would I be doing instead?”

The story is told from 2 perspectives which isn’t unusual for YA novels now. What is weird though is that it’s told by the same person in different perspectives. Want to read it yet? The dual perspectives really are the ones to thank for the character depth and intriguing plotline. Seriously, I went crazy went the story just got exciting but the the author switched to the other girl. Grrrr…

I’m really looking forward to the next book because just when I thought that the emotional rollercoaster was over, a page popped up saying “There’s a sequel!” Ok, fine I shall try and wait patiently for it.

4.5

Rating: 4.5/5 bamboo sticks

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

Let's talk about it

