Review: The Cinderella Moment by Jennifer Kloester

The Cinderella MomentA love of fashion.

A couture competition.

A once-in-a-lifetime chance . . . 

Angel Moncoeur has always wanted to be a fashion designer, but without money or connections, it’s going to be a challenge. When an opportunity to leave her home in New York and head to Paris appears, Angel grabs it – even if it means masquerading as her best friend Lily. That can’t be too hard, can it?

But faking things doesn’t come easy for Angel, so when she falls in love with her very own Prince Charming and he thinks she’s someone else, things start to get complicated.

Angel needs to stop her secrets unravelling if she wants to live happily ever after . . .

From exciting talent Jennifer Kloester comes this fabulous story about high society, mistaken identity, love, betrayal, friendship – and great clothes.

On a side note, I spelt Angel as Angle almost the whole review and had to go back a couple of times and edit it. Continuing with my fairytale retelling spree, The Cinderella Moment fitted my mood perfectly. I still can’t get into any of my other reads. This book was cute and short and was a great lazing around on Sundays read.

Ok, so obviously the title tells us this is another Cinderella story (I don’t mean the movie) so the plot obviously has the girl turns into princess kind of plotline. However, it took it’s time getting there. The beginning was so slow that I almost gave up on it but then Angel went to Paris. From there it was amazing. The Paris setting just sets the atmosphere for this cute tale and just reminds me I really need to read Anna and the French Kiss. I personally have never been to the city of love so most of my knowledge comes from cheesy rom-coms. The book really used the setting well for me so I liked it. The plot was also my main disappointment as well as the highlight. I felt it was lacking and was really predictable. I mean, chapters away from the ending, I already knew what was going to happen. Also the story lacked the iconic glass slipper. I need that glass slipper to be there. Why? I just do.

I was pulled in by the characters especially Lily’s grandmama, as she insists Angel calls her. She was really interesting and an awesome addition to the Cinderella story. Compared to her, Angel wasn’t that interesting of a narrator but that’s probably because it’s a third person POV which I really don’t like. And as always I have to give a little mention to the love interest who in this book was Nick Halliday. He’s pretty awesome but their relationship went from just met to OMG we’re in love! way too quick. I guess that’s what happens in the original Cinderella though.

I really like the cover and that’s what initially drew me to the book as I was book hunting. It’s really clean and fresh and it really reflects the story. It’s nothing amazingly artistic like Black City or has a creepy computer feel like Starters. The clean lines and simpleness really just highlight the story’s best features.

Well, it’s no Lunar Chronicles but its still a pretty good retelling of Cinderella.

Rating: 3.5/5 bamboo sticks

Author: Prima

Still crazy obsessed with High School Musical and is still disappointed real life high school did not involved as much singing and dancing. Almost 18 but relates to 5 year olds. Super cynical about Disney movies and kdramas but still loves them. Blogs about books and feels.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Cinderella Moment by Jennifer Kloester”

  1. I hate it when you spell a word incorrectly but it’s another word, so you don’t even realise, haha.
    I think this book sounds really cute, and I would like to read it. I am a pretty big fan of fairytale re-tellings, as I think they’re adorable. I still haven’t read Cinder, even though I own a copy! I am so behind in all my books that I want to read D:
    I guess I don’t really mind insta-love in fairytale re-tellings, because like you said, that’s the way it happened in the original.
    I love books set in Paris, as it allows me to visit the city vicariously. I will get there one day!
    Lovely review ^.^

    Like

    1. I really enjoyed reading both this book and Cinder even though they’re totally different. The settings are almost on different sides of the world (well, depending on how you look at a map) but I love how a fairytale can tie them together.

      Like

Leave a Reply

