Review: Sia by Josh Grayson

Sia

When seventeen-year-old Sia wakes up on a park bench, she has no idea who or where she is. Yet after a week of being homeless, she’s reunited with her family. At school, she’s powerful and popular. At home, she’s wealthy beyond her dreams. But she quickly realizes her perfect life is a lie. Her family is falling apart and her friends are snobby, cruel and plastic. Worse yet, she discovers she was the cruelest one. Mortified by her past, she embarks on a journey of redemption and falls for Kyle, the “geek” she once tormented. Yet all the time she wonders if, when her memories return, she’ll become the bully she was before…and if she’ll lose Kyle.

Thanks to Netgalley for the e-ARC. Now onto the review!

More food comparisons! The best way to describe Sia: eating a cookie. It was awesome while it lasted but it was too short of a good time. But even from the beginning, I was caught up in the story.

The concept of the story was interesting but I felt it could be expanded more, giving us more details about Sia’s memory loss and her personality change. Seriously, need more details. However, the story was sweet, inspiring and really brought home the point that people can change. The start was way too long. It made the plot feel bland and heading for no particular direction. It picked up after Sia returns to her life, where she realises that she was the rich snobby girl. She starts realising all the useless things she did when she was old Sia and works to change that. I really felt inspired by this.

Sia herself was a really interesting character. Being a fan of kdramas, I’m quite familiar with the use of amnesia. I’ve seen it been used really badly and I’ve seen it used really well. This book uses the amnesia plotline to its full extent. Fugue amnesia is real (I searched it up) if rare, but I appreciate that the author didn’t make up some sort of ridiculous amnesia (selective amnesia – no, just no). Sia really turns her life around and starts influencing her peers to do good. I did find this kind of unbelievable, that a girl can just change everyone in a few weeks, but for the sake of the story I was happy to go with it.

Being a rich daughter of a film producer, Sia’s life is in LA. Ok, to be honest, I wasn’t sure if this would work because I’ve read books that use way too many movies and names that they’ve become tacky. Here, they’re just there to remind us that Sia lives in the world of the rich and famous. This book merely used it like a subtle pillow to lay the inspirational plot on.

I would recommend this to people looking for a short, heartwarming read or just an un-paranormal book. So go on and add it to your to-read list.

Rating: 4/5 bamboo sticks

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

4 thoughts on “Review: Sia by Josh Grayson”

  1. This is the second review that I have read about this novel, and I must say yours has made me even more interested in reading it! I love books about amnesia – but what is selective amnesia? Did the brain just cut out random memories – sounds suspicious.
    I like it when authors use actual conditions, rather than making up nonsense, it means that the story is more believable; at least in my opinion.
    I definitely want to try and find a copy of this book to read, because I think it sounds like a really cute story ^.^

    Like

    1. Selective amnesia is used a lot in korean dramas. Technically they’re just there to make one of the MCs forget their true love and make more plot twists. But amnesia really drove this book well. You should definitely give it a try 😀

      Like

Let's talk about it

