Review: Old Magic by Marianne Curley

Old Magic

Jarrod Thornton is mesmerising.

But Kate Warren doesn’t know why.

The moment the new guy walks into the room, Kate senses something strange and intense about him. Something supernatural. Her instincts are proven correct a few minutes later when, bullied by his classmates, Jarrod unknowingly conjures up a freak thunderstorm inside their classroom.

Jarrod doesn’t believe in the paranormal. When Kate tries to convince him that he has

extraordinary powers that need to be harnessed, he only puts up with her “hocus pocus” notions because he finds her captivating. However, the dangerous, uncontrolled strengthening of his gift finally convinces Jarrod that he must take Kate’s theories seriously. Together, they embark on a remarkable journey — one which will unravel the mystery that has haunted Jarrod’s family for generations and pit the teens against immense forces in a battle to undo the past and reshape the future

I picked this up in Dymocks a few months ago, for the cheap price of $10 (well cheap for Dymocks). The cover was really striking and the blurb was interesting. I immediately started reading it but I found I couldn’t focus on it. Put it down. Then finally, I picked it up again during my 40 Hr Famine and finished it. And wow. I wouldn’t think I could like a book with such a slow beginning but this one proved me wrong.

I loved the characters and I loved the double first person POVs. Kate has been living with magic her whole life while Jarrod is the total opposite. The POVs gave us two views on both characters, which is just cool. Kate thinks Jarrod is crazy for not using his gifts and Jarrod thinks she’s crazy because of her gifts. The story shaped Jarrod up to be really clumsy but capable of a lot of things. And Kate? I felt that she was an ok narrator but that’s probably because of the writing style. I didn’t really like the way the author wrote. It was kind of slow and just kind of boring in some bits. The plot had really good ideas in it but the way she wrote it just didn’t pull me in.

Time travel isn’t usually my thing and this book proves why. I felt that the time travel was just there to get Kate and Jarrod together. I didn’t feel like they fit or had any chemistry. It’s also used to finally develop Jarrod’s powers. So was the time travel good? Yes, because of the magic stuff. No, for the forced pairing. It was cute but I just couldn’t feel the sparks anywhere.

Rating: 3.5/5 bamboo sticks

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

Let's talk about it

