Series Review: Wishes Series by GJ Walker Smith

How do I begin to explain the pain inside me? Well at least the first book wasn’t that bad. And I still don’t get all those 4/5 star ratings on Goodreads for this.

Saving Wishes (The Wishes, #1)

For Charli Blake, being seventeen is a tough gig.
She’s been branded a troublemaker, her reputation is in tatters and she’s stuck in Pipers Cove, a speck of a town on the coast of Tasmania.

Thankfully, it’s temporary. Her lifelong dream of travelling the world is just months away from becoming reality. All she has to do is ride out the last few months of high school, which is easier said than done thanks to a trio of mean girls known as The Beautifuls.

When Adam Décarie arrives in town, all the way from New York, life takes an unexpected turn. His arrival sets off a chain of events that alters her life forever, convincing her of one thing. Fate brought him to her.

Saving Wishes is the story of a girl who doesn’t quite fit the life she’s living, and the boy who helps her realise why.

Saving Wishes introduced us to our MC Charli Blake. Just a crazy girl in a boring town. Then we meet her meant-to-be love Adam Décarie and everything just becomes all rainbows and unicorns. If I have to hear about his cerulean eyes one more time, I will happily stab my brown ones to replace his. The author tries so hard to make this romance work with romantic out of the blue dates and flirty dialogue. But even from its instalove beginning, I could tell that its just not working. And because thats the center of the story, the whole thing just falls apart.

I mentioned how I was sick of hearing about Adam’s not blue but cerulean eyes. The writing was just so incredibly boring, the story didn’t have a chance. What was the story you asked? Girl falls in love with rich boy. Problem, problem, problem. End on relationship in a problem. And because of that cliffhanger, I just had to see what happened next.

Second Hearts (The Wishes Series #2)

Charli Blake’s high tolerance for risk doesn’t always work in her favour.
After a year of living out her dream of travelling the world, the sunny West African village of Kaimte would be her last stop.
She’s bound for New York, in search of the boy she’d let go of long ago.
For Charli, nothing has changed. She’s travelled thousands of miles but hasn’t moved an inch. Adam Décarie still means everything to her.
But reality soon hits hard.
For Adam, everything has changed.
Memories of the best love she’s ever known is all she has left, until Charli makes a shocking discovery. None of it had ever been real in the first place.

Second Hearts was even worse than the first book. Charli realises that after travelling the world for a year, that she just needs Adam so much. So she hops on a plane to New York and the whole first book starts again, but with mean rich friends as substitutes for The Beautifuls and a disapproving parent thrown in. What I hated the most in the book, however, was Charli. She arrives in NY, then Adam and her get back together and she morphs into a doormat. Literally. She lets Adam step all over her like grass and her reason is… wait for it… “I love him”. Ok, look Charli. Here’s a little tip. USE YOUR HEAD because you’re suppose to be smart or something like that. Oh, wait, your mind’s probably in La La Land. -_-

You probably can tell I don’t really respect our MC. She doesn’t think of the consequenses of her actions, she becomes a doormat and she’s just an overall annoying character. She wants to be with Adam so much that she’s willing to forfeit her own happiness to the mean rich friends and that disapproving parent mentioned earlier. Let’s just put that with her doormat issues. I really didn’t like this because somehow the author managed to just put all the cliches of poor/normal girl – rich boy relationships in this book. At least in the first book, Charli is slightly spunky and more interesting, but in Second Hearts, all that just disappears and only flares up in minor places.

However there was a highlight in this mess of a book. The minor couple of Ryan Décarie and Charli’s new NY friend, Bente. I caught a serious case of second lead syndrome, which is common in kdrama. In books? Not so much. This couple just stuck in my head a lot more than the main one did. Isn’t surprising really, as the main couple just sucks.

Saving Wishes – Rating: 2/5 bamboo sticks

Second Hearts – Rating: Rainbow Puke… and not for a good reason

image

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

7 thoughts on “Series Review: Wishes Series by GJ Walker Smith”

  1. Pretty shocked at your review. I got the first book Saving Wishes free and fell in love with the style of writing. I am still reading this series and I continue to enjoy them. I disagree with pretty much everything you said. (I love Ryan and Bente’s characters also). Guess that is why there are some many successful authors everyone sees things differently.

    Like

    1. That’s what makes it interesting, how people can have such different opinions on a book. Thank you for saying your thoughts because I always like to try and see both sides of the argument. I love a good discussion about books 😀

      Like

  2. I quite contrarily love this series. I’ve read all 3 of Charli & Adam’s books. Twice. I love the writing style and the storylines. Although I agree that Charli is a bit naive when it comes to Adam in the second book, but I don’t think we were supposed to love how Adam treated her and we were supposed to want it to either work out or for her to do something, which is what GJ Walker Smith had wanted. I enjoyed these books the first time I read them and I fell in love all over again the second time.

    Liked by 1 person

Let's talk about it

