Review: Midnight Frost (Mythos Academy #5) by Jennifer Estep

Up till midnight reading Midnight Frost… totally worth it.

Midnight Frost (Mythos Academy, #5)Here we go again …
Just when it seems life at Mythos Academy can’t get any more dangerous, the Reapers of Chaos manage to prove me wrong. It was just a typical night at the Library of Antiquities — until a Reaper tried to poison me. The good news is I’m still alive and kicking. The bad news is the Reaper poisoned someone else instead.

As Nike’s Champion, everyone expects me to lead the charge against the Reapers, even though I’m still hurting over what happened with Spartan warrior Logan Quinn. I’ve got to get my hands on the antidote fast — otherwise, an innocent person will die. But the only known cure is hidden in some creepy ruins — and the Reapers are sure to be waiting for me there …

Gwen and her team of awesome friends are back with the fifth installment of the Mythos Academy series and while it wasn’t as mind blowingly awesome as the other books, it was still a good read.

I felt that even though the story was good, it wasn’t the best it could’ve been. The story was still woven with mythology, which I always appreciate but the plot was too much journey for the antidote and not enough Reaper killing action. Don’t get me wrong, Jennifer Estep’s writing is still really good and funny if not a bit repetitive, but the story seemed a bit dull and I couldn’t get fully into it. And the next bit might explain why.

So characters… specifically Logan. Ok, I have to admit, I was expecting him to pop up in all sorts of places in the books. Then he did. I literally had a silent screaming, leg flailing fangirling moment. He’s just too cool. Well, all of them are. Gwen’s still her awesome self with a lot more fighting skills then we saw in the first book and of course, there’s Vic, her talking sword, who’s bloody brilliant. Together, they’re just the funniest duo ever. Here’s a quote from when Gwen takes Vic out after a plane flight:

“What are you doing?” I asked.

“What do you think I’m doing? I’m trying to pop my bloody ear,” Vic said. “The change in altitude is killing me, I tell you. Killing me!”

And another during a fight with Reapers:

“You’re really going to talk about how awesome you are at a time like this?”
“Certainly,” Vic said. “Why wouldn’t I?”

Do I need to say any more?

So overall, this book had the same repetitive kind of nature that I’ve learnt comes with the series. It was kind of stale and boring sometimes but it still had the same action and humour that drew me to the series.

Rating: 3/5 bamboo sticks

BTW I won’t be posting anything during 16th August – 18th August because I’m participating in the 40hr Famine. For those who don’t know about this World Vision fundraising event, people pledge to give up something such as food, talking, furniture or technology to raise money for hungry families in Malawi, Ethiopia, East Timor, Nepal, Tanzania and Uganda. I’m giving up technology so no blogging for a weekend. Anyway, this is just me asking for you to sponsor me online to reach my goal of $150. Here’s a page about where the funds go.

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

6 thoughts on “Review: Midnight Frost (Mythos Academy #5) by Jennifer Estep”

Let's talk about it

