Review: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour might have been a detour from my normal paranormal reads, but it was most definitely epic.

Amy and Roger's Epic Detour

Amy Curry thinks her life sucks. Her mom decides to move from California to Connecticut to start anew–just in time for Amy’s senior year. Her dad recently died in a car accident. So Amy embarks on a road trip to escape from it all, driving cross-country from the home she’s always known toward her new life. Joining Amy on the road trip is Roger, the son of Amy’s mother’s old friend. Amy hasn’t seen him in years, and she is less than thrilled to be driving across the country with a guy she barely knows. So she’s surprised to find that she is developing a crush on him. At the same time, she’s coming to terms with her father’s death and how to put her own life back together after the accident. Told in traditional narrative as well as scraps from the road–diner napkins, motel receipts, postcards–this is the story of one girl’s journey to find herself.

Wow, what did I just read. Emotionally, I’m moved. Physically, tired from staying up to read it. The author wrote a brilliant story with humour and grief.

I surprisingly really enjoyed the book even though the romance wasn’t the shining star in it. It’s more of a self discovery than romance, which I think is pretty awesome. Amy is grieving for her father in more ways than one and the journey kind of helps her deal with it. The plot is fresh and new. It was really well written, making me almost cry in some bits. There were heaps of memorable quotes:

Amy! was probably someone who baked goods for various sports teams and cheered wholeheartedly at pep rallies.

-Amy Curry

Just purse your lips and try

-Amy to Roger on the topic of whistling

I took a long, hot bath, using products I’d stolen from hotels across America

-Amy Curry

That last one, I can totally relate to. When I come home from a holiday, my bags are filled with hotel freebies. Then, I reached the end of the epic journey and this is where my favourite quote is:

I knew I was going to be able to read beyond page sixty-two

Might not make sense now, but when you read the book, it will.

So what makes this book really stand out for me? The personal touches. The book had some pages with little things like receipts, photos and info on the states, kind of like a scrapbook It really made me feel like I was on the journey. The author did really well on involving us in the story.

The characters were all kinds of awesome. Amy and Roger are the MCs but they meet all sorts of random people on their journey from Kansas loving Walcott to rich boy Lucien. The MCs themselves were really interesting and stayed true to themselves. For example, Roger, who is hung up on his ex, doesn’t see Amy and suddenly falls in love with her.

Great read filled with emotion. It has a similar feel (and cover) to The Distance Between Us, but to me, this was better. Definitely recommend it.

Rating: 5/5 bamboo sticks

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

3 thoughts on “Review: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson”

Let's talk about it

