Random on Sundays: Abandoned Books Edition

So I recently saw this article where Goodreads polled the most abandonded books. This got me thinking: does everyone always finish their books? Well, I for one don’t. I have a specific Goodreads shelf for unfinished or skipped lots kind of books. Usually I finish most books but there’s just a few that I just can’t. Let’s see the top 3 symptoms of an abandoned book:

1. Slow Beginning

Beginning makes you feel like this:

or it just doesn’t grab you.

For me, it was Old Magic by Marianne Curley. Read two chapters in, put it down and never came back.

2. Horrible Plot

When the plot is weak or just makes NO SENSE AT ALL. According to Goodreads info it’s why 46.4% of readers put down the book. Illuminate by Aimee Agresti is a perfect example. Even halfway through I still had no idea why the MC was at a hotel in the first place. And it was slow.

3. Annoying Characters

Knocking out 4.9% of Goodreads members out of books is the main character. Seriously, if you can’t stand the MC, how can you even read through their eyes? You’re probably gonna spend half the time being like this: image

instead of enjoying the book.

So guys, do any of you have any abandonded books for any of these reasons? Or maybe you’re planning to pick them up again? Leave a comment, I’d love to hear.

xoxo Panda

Link to article: http://au.businessinsider.com/most-abandoned-books-list-on-goodreads-2013-7

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

2 thoughts on “Random on Sundays: Abandoned Books Edition”

  1. I have a few abandoned books … Destined (House of Night #9) is one of them … I don’t know what possessed me to read the first 8 books … ewww!!!
    The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi … I want to read it, this one I may pick up again.
    Mmmmm Paranormalcy by Kiersten White … it was painful … won’t even touch it again!!!

    For me, it’s about the characters, if I hate or don’t respect the MC, I won’t finish.

    Like

Let's talk about it

