Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

“My thoughts are stars I can’t fathom into constellations.” There that quote describes how I feel right now. That amazing quote in an ever more amazing book describes all of my feelings, every single one of them.I don’t know how I’l even write a coherent review. Let’s just write it in a list

1. The plot. Oh the plot. It was heartwrenchingly sad yet it had a touch of humour. Even just thinking about the plot makes me feel like breaking into tears. Love it, love it, love it. It made me think if I were in their shoes, just waiting to die from the cancer eating you, would I act like they would? Would I think in their views?

2. The characters. Their emotions just pulled me in. Hazel was a bit unrelatable at times but she was a tough and funny MC. And Augustus Waters… he was just the reason for all my tears. All his optimism and humour made him the best character in my eyes.

3. We come to the humour. It was dark at times with the kids discussing their impending deaths but there were quotes like “Lonely, vaguely pedophilic swing sets seeks the butts of children” that just made me laugh every time I see it. There were a lot of quotes that grabbed me. Here’s a couple:

Yeah I didn’t draw this, it’s from Tumblr.

4. You won’t regret reading this book. Trust me okay? Okay.

Rating: 5/5 bamboo sticks

So how are you feeling about the movie?

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green”

Let's talk about it

