Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #1)

Wow, this book was surprisingly good. The blurb didn’t give away much so I didn’t have any really big expectations for it. I didn’t really know much about the characters either except that Noah was really hot or something (thank you YA Crush Tournament) and the book cover had a depressing feel about it. I usually don’t read books that doesn’t give much away, but I liked The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (that’s the last time I’m saying the full title)

I was really freaked out by the plot at first. But as I got further in, it was actually really interesting and haunting. Mara Dyer was involved in an accident with 3 friends that only she came out alive. Her family is worried about her sanity, she’s worried about her sanity. Then she starts remembering how her friends died, the events leading up to it. So the plot is filled with juicy content from the normal backstabbing popular girl to the strange things that Mara starts seeing. It was interesting to read about the mystery being solved. I got freaked out every time she saw Jude or Claire in the mirror. If I had to describe the tone of the story I would say it’s similar to Hush Hush with the mystery and the darkness of the atmosphere.

The writing was really intense to match the tone. I remember there was this one chapter that ended with a really short sentence and I was just like this:

image

That describes everything I felt. Anyways, I found that it was written really well. It was somehow able to mix a bit of paranormal and scariness with humour and romance which made the book really enjoyable to read.

Talking bout the romance, let’s talk about the love interest, Noah Shaw. Small description? Panda is in love. He was the perfect guy for Mara  with his similar experiences and light personality. Every time she was feeling down or angry or whatever, he said the things she needed to hear (or what I wanted to hear) and was always there supporting her. It doesn’t hurt that he is a British accented bad boy with just-rolled-out-of-bed hair.  Noah’s way up there on my book crush list for his sweetness, hotness and just plain awesomeness.

As awesome as the writing and the plot and Noah was, there was this one thing  that brought the book with the really, super long title down. I felt that the guy that become Mara’s friend, Jaime, was a bit flat as in he was just invented for no reason. He was gone for the whole middle section but then is brought back into the plot suddenly. Look, I’m all right if the character is meant to be boring but serves some sort of purpose in the plot, but Jaime was just purely useless in the major problem of the book. Other than that, I really enjoyed the strange atmosphere of this book. I would recommend this book to those who liked Hush Hush or just like reading about hot guys.

Rating: 4/5 bamboo sticks

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

10 thoughts on “Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin”

  1. This is in my TBR pile to finish before the end of the year. I’ve heard nothing but good things, so I’m definitely excited to read it. I love any story that can creep me out. I’m planning to read this and “House of Hades” in October, which seems really appropriate 🙂 Great review, btw!

    Like

Let's talk about it

