Review: Half Blood (Covenant #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Half-Blood (Covenant, #1)

I really should have listened to the reviews for Half Blood because they were damn true. What am I talking about, you ask? Well, let me just talk you through the two rules of my book world. One, no book should not have more feels than The Golden Lily had (that should be a law) and two, no book should ever, under any circumstance, use the EXACT same idea as another. And this is exactly where this book went wrong. It was a vampire academy rip-off coated in a Greek gods cover. So let’s dissect the book and see the similarities:

  • We open on a scene where the MC Alex who is on the run like Rose was, gets attacked which is exactly what happens to Rose.
  • We get a description of the dhampirs – oh wait, I meant half-bloods and I quote “Being a half blood, the product of a pure blood and ordinary human-a mongrel by pure standards-I had no control over elements”. That ring any bells yet?
  • The MC’s love interest Aiden just happens to be able to work with her, even though he is apparently a busy guy and one of the best protectors/sentinels.
  • Aiden also reads during their practices. He freaking reads like Dimitri does during Rose’s practices.

Ok, if that hasn’t convinced you then go ahead and read the book because you’ll probably like it. But I definitely didn’t. If I hadn’t read the  Vampire Academy series, I might have liked it but sadly I did. It was a big let down. Vampire Academy was good because I didn’t expect what would happen. But with Half Blood… I kinda did. I figured that Alex would be the second Apollyon because the main character has to be special. That was probably the only thing special about her. The characters just felt a bit too flat, to predictable

Is there anything I did like though? I did like the writing style. I’ve read the Lux series, also written by the same author, and absolutely loved it. The plot was something I’ve never read about and I found it really interesting and suspenseful. Unfortunately, this book did not have the same awesomeness. I really wanted to like it, I sincerely did, but I just couldn’t stop drawing connections between it and Vampire Academy.

Rating: 2/5 bamboo sticks – Panda is disappointed in you book, you only deserve 2 bamboo because the writing style is good.

Panda needs more books. Got any you want to be reviewed?

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

1 thought on “Review: Half Blood (Covenant #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout”

  1. Great review!!!!

    I had the same problem, regarding the storyline (which is a Vampire Academy Copy) and the characters. But a friend insisted so much that I had to give the series a second chance. And let me tell you, everything changes. The similarities with VA ended with book 2, the rest of the books are completely different, actually … they are pretty good.

    Like

Let's talk about it

