Review: Ink (Paper Gods #1) by Amanda Sun

20130628-074015.jpg

I’ve waited so long for Ink to come out and I’ve finally got a copy!!

Pretty, pretty, pretty is probably the first thing I have to say about Ink. I mean, just look at the cover! And there’s the beautiful sketches inside the book. This is just drawing heaven. Then I realised the small pictures on the side of the middle pages made a little flipbook. Panda. Is. Mind-blown. Thats how awesome the visuals are.

I admit I wasn’t expecting much from this book but I freaking loved it. I went through the anime/manga stage a while back and I think its really rubbed off me. This book kind if had that kind if manga plot feel and I loved it. Our MC, Katie Greene arrives in Japan after the death of her mum. She doesn’t fit in easily with her blond hair and limited knowledge of Japanese. Then she meets Tomohiro, the bad-ass guy of the school. And this is where things start happening.

I really adored the plot. Being a big fan of Percy Jackson, I love myths and legends which is the base for Ink. The whole paranormal aspect of the book revolves around Tomo’s connection with the ancient Japanese gods. He’s able to do amazing things with ink and I’m not just talking about drawing pictures. I’m talking about being able to make pictures come alive and make pens explode. He’s just that awesome.

Talking bout Tomo’s awesomeness, i really like his character as well. He was really interesting to read because he has a sort of split personality between his school face, the ink’s face and his real face. He’s so awesome because on top of that he struggles to be himself and not the monster trying to control him. The MC was good but I still think she’s a bit of a stalker. I literally mean she follows Tomo around for a while. Dude there’s better ways to find out people’s secrets.

I absolutely loved the setting. The author wrote it surprisingly well. She somehow managed to make me clearly see Japan, even though I’ve never been there. And not only that. Even though the book is in english, the Japanese culture could still be seen through that. I really liked how that shone through, not only through the setting but through the use of Japanese phrases peppered throughout the book. There’s even a glossary to make sure we understand the phrases. Panda wants to go learn Japanese now. And go to Japan and meet Tomo.

Another vital part to Ink was the romance. Ah, YA fiction isn’t YA fiction without the romance. Unfortunately, this book suffers from the contagious disease of instalove. Seriously half the book hasn’t even passed and Katie and Tomo are already confessing to each other. That shouldn’t happen, OK?

I really liked this book even though it had cough instalove cough. It was really easy to read, has a really interesting plot, super pretty cover and not only one hot guy but two. If don’t want to read it now there’s something wrong with you.

Rating: 4.5 bamboo sticks – Panda is fed. Now let’s go to Japan.

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

8 thoughts on “Review: Ink (Paper Gods #1) by Amanda Sun”

Let's talk about it

