Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

20130623-163601.jpg

I started reading this book a few weeks ago but it just wasn’t doing enough for me so I set it aside. After a drought of books, I picked it back up and finally finished it. And isn’t panda happy she did.

My Life Next Door was just a great great read. I was drawn to it by its pretty cover and some positive reviews on Goodreads but its heart, story and charming characters made me stay.

So what did I like about it? Well, one is the plot. Samantha Reed, the golden girl, lives right next door to a large family of 8 kids. She meets one of them, Jase Garrett, and they become friends. But being friends with the Garretts is forbidden by her perfect polititian mother. And that’s what the story is based on.

Even though its a romance plot, it isn’t just wholly focused on Samantha and Jase’s relationship. Oh no, it had family and love, friendship, morals and politics. It was a lot of stuff all in one book but somehow it worked. However the start of the book was pretty slow as the plot just had nothing going on (that was when I put it down for a while) but I’m glad I came back for more because it really did pick up.

The best part of this novel was definitely its last few chapters. Also, the ending was really well done for me because the author didn’t just tie everything up in a perfect bow and end on just a single, perfect moment in time. I think this just makes it more realistic, more three dimensional.

I just loved all the characters. I know I say this a lot but I seriously do. From Jase and his awesomeness to little Patsy and her funny first words, all the characters were so real. The main couple weren’t just idiotic lovebirds (thank you book). They were really mature considering their age. And then there’s George Garrett. I especially liked George. Omg he was just adorable. I mean look at this quote:

“I’m this many,” George holds up four slightly grubby fingers.

“No matter how fast or slow he runs, you always say it’s been eleventeen minutes”
– Harry to George

Let me keep him please?

On the other side there’s the villian. If every book has a bad guy then Clay Tucker is it. There were parts where I was muttering “Can someone just punch this guy already?!” But that’s ok because he was a crucial person in the book. Actually I might have not read till the end if he wasn’t in it, not because of him himself but because of all the drama he makes.

My Life Next Door…how can I sum this review up? I would say read it but maybe its only because I’m still hung up on the amazing ending. Who cares, you should read it for the ending then.

Rating: 4/5 bamboo sticks – panda might be on an ending high but she can’t forget how slow the beginning was

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

2 thoughts on “Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick”

Let's talk about it

