Review: Catching Jordan (Hundred Oaks #1) by Miranda Kenneally

20130613-065806.jpg

Omg. That book was pretty awesome. So after Hooked I wasn’t too eager to read books based on a relationship but after seeing a review on Little Book Star, I decided why not? Catching Jordan was pretty damn awesome because:

1) Jordan is badass
2) No instalove (thank god)
3) Did I mention that Jordan is badass

So Jordan Woods is the quarterback in her school’s football team. That’s right. Her as in she’s a girl. But she’s just one of the guys in her team’s eyes and her own. She’s the best part of the story. The only part where I didn’t like the book was around the middle and a bit of the end where she was dealing with her chaotic love life and acting like a girl. But I guess I don’t know how normal girls deal with guy issues – the closest I’ve gotten is when I read an awesome bit with Adrian in it and then he’s gone 😦

I loved the plot. It’s not your typical fall in love with the hot new guy story. Oh no. This is the hot new guy is cute but maybe he’s not the one for me story. The emotions in this story is just amazing.

Then there’s the poem parts. They were just the icing on the cake. Somehow the poems managed to be simple yet reflect Jordan’s emotions in just a few short sentences. I think the poems are what give the book the emotion and feelings that allowed me to connect with Jordan’s character who is literally my complete opposite.

Overall Catching Jordan was a good read. I admit, there were some parts I had to just stop and think “no, you idiot” but other than that it was a fun, emotional read.

Rating: 4 bamboo sticks – Panda likes it like eating half a stick of bamboo

What did you think about the book? Leave your thoughts in the comments

Author: Prima

Still crazy obsessed with High School Musical and is still disappointed real life high school did not involved as much singing and dancing. Almost 18 but relates to 5 year olds. Super cynical about Disney movies and kdramas but still loves them. Blogs about books and feels.

8 thoughts on “Review: Catching Jordan (Hundred Oaks #1) by Miranda Kenneally”

  1. yay I’m glad you liked it 😀 I agree about her chaotic love life That was really surprising and went kind of too fast. Her transformation of her acting more girlish went too fast too. I think the plot’s amazing too! It’s not your typical shy girl falls in love with hot guy. Oh btw it’s Catching not Chasing 😉 Great review!!

    Leigh
    Little Book Star

    Like

  2. yay glad you liked it! It was a nice read, but the only problem I had was how the MC transformed way too fast in having a relationship. I liked the plot too; it’s not your common shy girl meets hot guy YA read. I also like how for the rest of the series, the characters from the 1st book are also in the next book and so on.

    Leigh
    Little Book Star

    Like

    1. yeah I felt that she was just a tomboy then boom! she suddenly was way more girlier talking to girls and talking about relationships. I might read the rest of series cuz it seems interesting. Oh, and thanks for telling me about the typo! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

