Review: Hooked (Hooked #1) by Liz Fichera

Image

Well I definitely wasn’t hooked into this novel. What’s up with that title anyway? Its a golf love story called Hooked???

Anyway, I don’t normally read books without vampires or werewolves or shadowhunters in them but I thought I’d give a different genre a try. Walking around stores looking for a book and I found this one. A love story with a Native American girl, Fred, who loves golf. After I read it though I realised it wasn’t a love story as much as it was a story about a Native American girl being dissed by her white peers. I would actually have liked the book more if the plot was more about the romance cuz I’m a sucker for romance :3

The best part of this book was definitely the characters. They were so well developed, even the bad guy Seth, who had his reasons for being the bad guy (I still want to slap him though). The only problem I had with the characters though is that it seemed like everyone had some kind of family trouble. Is that seriously normal? Sometimes I feel like family troubles just dominate waaay too many book plots.

Then there’s the fact that Fred’s on the golf team. The all boys golf team. I’m sorry, but I’m pretty sure there are strict rules about girls playing in boys competition and vice versa. This just doesn’t happen in the real world. Or maybe I’m just too sport unaware.

So in my opinion, this book had so much potential but it just flopped short of it. It was a deep, meaningul book but there was jst so many things that I felt the author could have done to make is better. I’d recommend this book to bored pandas looking for a decent book to read.

Rating: 3.5 bamboo sticks – Panda’s not sure but she thinks she likes it?

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

Let's talk about it

