Review of a Panda: The Nightmare Affair (The Arkwell Academy #1) by Mindee Arnett

12411635

So I was looking at my goodreads recommendations and this is one that it spewed up. I’m not quite sure if I liked it or not to be honest. On one side there’s the awesome idea of a nightmare being a creature on the other side there’s the plot.

Ok, I’ll start with what i liked bout the book. It has a pretty purple cover, a hot sounding blurb that mentions a hot sounding guy and it was funny to read. I loved the idea of a nightmare that feeds on people’s dreams. Its an idea that I haven’t seen around yet.

I also liked the world it was set in. It was thought out well. For example the magical gravity known as The Will. The author made loopholes in how it works so the events that happened made sense. I appreciated that the author took some time explaining the world’s laws and politics to the reader so we understood what was happening.The academy was pretty awesome too. But I guess all wizardy magic schools are cool. However I just thought this school sounded a bit like Hex Hall in the series by Rachel Hawkins but thats probably just me.

Now we move on onto the plot. The only way I can explain why I didn’t like it is through the plot. It was so one tracked. So focused on just solving the mystery of the killer. I mean, I don’t mind if the main plot is that but it was for the WHOLE ENTIRE BOOK. THE WHOLE THING!!! There are so many places where the author could’ve just put a minor problem but she didn’t and thats what let me down. Sigh. It’s would have been way better if the plot was just more diverse. So yeah, only 3 bamboo sticks.

Rating: 50/50 Panda

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

2 thoughts on “Review of a Panda: The Nightmare Affair (The Arkwell Academy #1) by Mindee Arnett”

Let's talk about it

